top of page

Burn Baby, Burn

Côté Danse

Acclaimed dancer and choreographer Guillaume Côté presents his latest creation for nine dancers Burn Baby, Burn.

In the intricate dance of life, there's a prolonged performance, a metaphorical Burn Baby, Burn, where our collective actions fuel the rise in global temperature. This dance reflects humanity's reluctance to confront climate change, captivating yet carrying dangerous consequences.


The dance is captivating, intoxicating, and truly enjoyable, portraying beauty amidst its fiery chaos. It's like watching a mesmerizing explosion, both strangely beautiful and tragically compelling.


While this fire may consume aspects of our civilization, it might ultimately be a positive shift, acknowledging our harmful impact on the planet. The idea of fire as a symbol of passion and intensity is woven throughout the performance, reminding us of the power within us to spark change, but also the danger of letting it spiral out of control.


Nine performers captivate the audience with their dynamic range of movements that encompass extreme physicality, serene delicacy, untamed exuberance, and moments of levity.


Informed by his classical ballet vocabulary, Côté’s choreography contours space with resonant geometries and fervent human connections. Contemporary lines and forms with a sleek edge and refined athleticism give his work a bracing quality.

Info

Year of creation: 2024

60 minutes

9 dancers

Specs

Pre-hanging required

 8 hours set-up

 2 hours strike

Tour

11 personnes en tournée

11 chambres simples

Audience

All audiences

Workshop available

Post-show discussion

why program this show?

  • New work by an internationally acclaimed artist
  • Abrasive work tackling a burning issue
  • Impeccable virtuosity and technique
  • Contemporary ballet for lovers of beauty and reflection

credits

Choreographer Guillaume Côté Assistant and rehearsal director Anisa Tejpar Original music Amos Ben-Tal, OFFProjects Costumes design Yso South Lighting design Simon Rossiter Producer Etienne Lavigne Dancers Demetri Apostolopoulos, Jessica Germano, Martha Hart, Kevin Lau, Griffen Grice, Willem Sadler, Katherine Semchuk, Evan Webb, Carleen Zouboules

calendar

Saint-Sauveur

Festival des Arts

2 août 2024

20:00

Côté Danse

Guillaume Côté

bottom of page

top of page

Burn Baby, Burn

Côté Danse

Le danseur émérite et chorégraphe Guillaume Côté présente sa toute nouvelle création pour neuf danseurs Burn Baby, Burn.

Dans cette danse complexe qu'est la vie, il y a une performance prolongée, une invitation métaphorique à ne jamais s'arrêter (Burn Baby Burn), où nos actions collectives font augmenter la température globale. Cette danse reflète la réticence de l'humanité à faire face au changement climatique, ce hypnotisant danger porteur de graves conséquences.


La danse est captivante, enivrante et vraiment agréable, dépeignant la beauté à travers son chaos ardent. C'est comme si l'on assistait à une fascinante explosion, à la fois étrangement belle et tragiquement percuntante.


Bien que ce feu puisse consumer certains aspects de notre civilisation, il pourrait en fin de compte s'agir d'un changement positif, qui nous forcerait à reconnaître notre impact néfaste sur la planète. L'idée du feu comme symbole de la passion et de l'intensité est omniprésente dans le spectacle, nous rappelant notre pouvoir à provoquer le changement, mais aussi le danger de le laisser échapper à tout contrôle.


Neuf interprètes envoûtent le public à travers leurs mouvements dynamiques qui déploie une physicalité extrême, une délicatesse sereine, une exubérance indomptée et des moments de légèreté.


En puisant dans son vocabulaire issu du ballet classique, la chorégraphie de Côté contourne l'espace avec des géométries résonnantes et de ferventes connexions humaines. Les lignes et les formes contemporaines, avec un côté épuré et un athlétisme raffiné, confèrent à son travail une qualité vivifiante.

Infos

Création 2024

60 minutes

9 danseurs

Technique

Pré-accrochage requis

8 heures de montage

2 heures de démontage

Tournée

11 personnes en tournée

11 chambres simples

Public

Tout public

Atelier possible

Discussion après le spectacle

pourquoi programmer ce spectacle ?

  • Nouvelle création d'un artiste émérite applaudi à l'international

  • Œuvre abrasive abordant un sujet brûlant d'actualité

  • Virtuosité et technique impeccables

  • Ballet contemporain pour les amateurs de beauté et de réflexion

crédits

Chorégraphie Guillaume Côté Assistante à la création création et directrice des répétitions Anisa Tejpar Musique originale Amos Ben-Tal, OFFProjects Conception des costumes Yso South Conception des éclairages Simon Rossiter Producteur Etienne Lavigne Interprètes Demetri Apostolopoulos, Jessica Germano, Martha Hart, Kevin Lau, Griffen Grice, Willem Sadler, Katherine Semchuk, Evan Webb, Carleen Zouboules

calendrier

Saint-Sauveur

Festival des Arts

2 août 2024

20:00

Côté Danse

Guillaume Côté

bottom of page